HISTORIA VITAE MEAE Vol. 5


..some lessons are better learnt in defeat..

In my early days, I was playful and cantankerous. I never took anything seriously. However, my time in secondary school taught me responsibility and taking charge. Actually, I didn’t learn these lessons because I wanted to, I would have preferred to play my way through exuberantly. I just happened to have no choice in the matter. I was beaten and bent, and I had to conform. I learnt to be responsible from the daily tasks I was entrusted with and expected to execute. Back then, it was hard and painful. It was like one huge unending punishment. Looking back, I am most grateful I had someone who took his time and energy to bend my hard rod to conformation.

Consequently, I have a natural tendency to take up roles and tasks. This was evident in me contesting for roles right from my 100L days. My best mates later told me they were actually unimpressed with me back then. I just have an inkling to serve really. Being that as it may, at that time, I had less to no interest in politics.

There is something about my first departmental class rep that intrigues me. He was somewhat exuberant like I was and outrightly buoyant. I always enjoyed his company. He had a huge following and a keen eye for politics.

It was a cold morning, in a MCB class and an election month. My rep approached me and we found ourselves talking about politics, right after we rated the gurls. It was actually more like him trying to convince me to take up a political post in the department. Naturally, I wasn’t interested and I told him in no uncertain terms. He then made a statement that has stayed with me ever since. He said, ‘ If the wise do not preside, the fools will take their place.’ The following day, I was campaigning for the post of PRO (my rep was to contst for the post of Gen. Sec.).

A week to the election, my rep mysteriously stepped down and I had to step up to the role of Gen. Sec. of the department’s student association. I was elected into office unopposed thought. Being the Gen. Sec. was pretty awesome though. I also had one of my best buddies as the PRO so it was never dull in the meetings. I learnt a couple of things in this role and I can boldly say we changed the face of the association in the regime positively.

You have to know, given my personality, i don’t bow to authorities, except one which I respect. In the course of the regime, I got to know why my rep stepped down from contesting. He most definitely didn’t think  the president elect should be unopposed and he certainly didn’t think the best candidate was he who was allowed to run unopposed. He bluntly told me he can’t work with an association president that was hand picked and imposed by a minority. I later got an handle on what he meant but by and large, the regime was successful.

Having served as the Gen. Sec. of the association, it was only natural for me to make the next big move into contesting for the presidency. This I did and promptly failed to nail. The build up, election and after effect of the contest taught me invaluable life and political lessons and ultimately made me a better man.

image

..it is not often about winning or losing, if you did all that could be done and all that was expected, then you are victorious..

3 thoughts on “HISTORIA VITAE MEAE Vol. 5

  1. Tbh, this —-Β» “..it is not often about winning or losing, if you did all that could be done and all that was expected, then you are victorious..” Intrigued me in all. Not like I didn’t read o. Lool. I just hope I would be able to write beautifully like you someday. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Oh! I’m flattered dearie.. You are writing exceedingly well for a starter though and i’m sure you’l be better than I possibly am right now pretty soon. Thanks b.. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Tbh, this —–Β» “..it is not often about winning or losing, if you did all that could be done and all that was expected, then you are victorious..” Intrigued me in all. Not like I didn’t read o. Lool. I just hope I wud b able to write beautifully like you someday πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

