BEAUTY


beauty isn’t about having a pretty face. It is about having a pretty mind, a pretty heart, and most importantly, a beautiful soul..

Long before now, I had decided that the perception of beauty lies not only in the physical and the obvious. Sometimes, it is the most obscure things and our insecurities that make us beautiful. Don’t even get me started on our flaws and imperfections. Beauty obviously stems from diverse roots and branches into even more different directions. What you see is what you get obviously; but again, beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. Now, the only things that matter here are the mentality and personality of the beholder, his judgement and depth.

By the way, let’s take a closer look at that common saying again, “beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder.” I’m perplexed that it places beauty in the eyes and that right there is the reason for our continued misconception. Who exactly thought of defining beauty with the physical attributes as that saying denotatively screams? Except only if we were meant to look at the saying connotatively. The men of old are epitomes of intelligence and I can’t bring myself to think they would go denotative in this context.

One of the lowest of lows in my opinion is ‘low-self esteem.’ I know, I’ve hammered this nail non-stop, I just can’t seem to see beyond it as fundamentally crushing. Forget it, if you don’t perceive yourself as something, then don’t expect us to exalt you. If you don’t see the beauty in you because you are not attractive, then don’t expect us to want to know and unearth the gems in you. Yes, I admit it takes something to draw people in, it does not however have to necessarily be your looks; try intelligence or warmth for a change. Well, it is safe to say that some of us are not swayed entirely by the sights and sounds; they are basically bonuses.

I am burdened when I see, to be honest, unattractive people admit to “not being beautiful.” Yes, you are not cute in the eyes of the majority, but not beautiful? You really sure about that?! Except if in all aspects of their lives, they truly are not beautiful. I can tell you that there are indeed people that are neither cute nor beautiful.

I can’t seem to exhaust my frustration on this piece, but again, until another time with similar mood.

..yes, you might not be cute, attractive or gorgeous, we don’t care if it doesn’t stop you. Just stay beautiful..

3 thoughts on “BEAUTY

Leave a Reply

